USCIS Releases Statement Regarding the Countries Eligible for H-2A and H-2B Visa Programs

In the past week, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services, as well as the Department of Homeland Security and the Department of State have released a list of countries from which foreign nationals may participate in the H-2A and H-2B visa programs in 2020. Essentially, all the countries that were designated as eligible in 2019 will remain designated for 2020.

That being said, if you are from a country that is not currently listed, you should not give up hope. USCIS has the power to add any country it deems eligible at any time. That being said, USCIS can also deny eligibility to current eligible countries at any time as well.

Essentially, the H-2A and H-2B programs serve the purpose of allowing employers in the United States to apply for certain foreign nations to work temporarily in certain agricultural or nonagricultural jobs within the U.S. Though generally, only individuals from countries deemed eligible may be admitted, there are certain circumstances where USCIS will approve H-2A and H-2B petitions from countries currently deemed ineligible if it can be proven that it is in the best interest of the United States to do so. If you are someone who believes you are eligible for the H-2A and H-2B programs, you must read on and reach out to our experienced Wisconsin immigration attorney to learn more about how we can help you through the legal process. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What are some of the countries eligible for H-2A and H-2B programs?

Some, but not all, of the countries eligible for the visa programs include Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Honduras, Guatemala, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Moldova, Paraguay, Dominican Republic, Taiwan, the United Kingdom, and more.

Are there any exceptions?

There are certain exceptions for various countries. For example, the Dominican Republic, Moldova, and Paraguay are eligible for the H-2A program, however, they may not participate in the H-2B program. Additionally, you should note that the recent notice from USCIS does not affect individuals currently in the U.S. unless they are applying to extend their status. These countries’ designations will remain valid until January 18, 2021. If you think you qualify, you must not wait–our firm is ready to assist you today.

Contact our experienced Wisconsin immigration firm

John Sesini is an experienced immigration attorney with offices in Green Bay and Milwaukee Wisconsin. Our firm understands what is at stake when it comes to immigration law matters, which is why If you have any questions, you should not hesitate to contact the Sesini Law Group, S.C. and schedule your initial consultation with our firm today.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  Who Is Eligible for an F-3 Visa?
  •  What is an R-1 Visa?
  •  How Can I Become a Naturalized Citizen?
  •  What Is the Newest Action to Keep Immigrant Families Together?