DACA Eligibility

There are a lot of questions that people have about Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals. With the new administration, immigration restrictions have come to light and DACA has been called into question on numerous occasions but as of now, it is still in place.

You will have to meet certain qualifications in order to determine if you are eligible for DACA. The qualifications are as follows:

  • You must have been under the age of 31 on June 15, 2012
  • You were already in the United States prior to turning 16 years old
  • You must have lived in the United States since at least June 15, 2007, and must still reside here

In addition to these age and residency requirements, you must currently be in school or be an honorably discharged veteran of the United States military. If you have been convicted of a felony, a serious misdemeanor, or have had 3+ misdemeanors, you will not be eligible for the DACA program. You will have to request consideration of DACA before anything else, using Form I-821D.

It is important that you consult with an experienced immigration attorney who can help you determine if you are eligible for DACA. If you do not meet the requirements to apply for DACA, an attorney can help you work towards becoming a lawful resident and obtain a Green Card, if you are eligible.

If you have questions about your DACA eligibility or about any other immigration related matters, contact the Sesini Law Group, S.C. today.

John Sesini is an experienced immigration attorney with offices in Green Bay and Milwaukee Wisconsin. If you have any questions regarding these matters, please contact the Sesini Law Group, S.C. and obtain your initial consultation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  What Is the Newest Action to Keep Immigrant Families Together?
  •  What Should I Know About the New Action to Secure the Border?
  •  What is an EB-3 Visa?
  •  How Can I Prepare for My Green Card Interview?